Skip to content

Thin Places

February 3, 2013

So my pastor is doing a really good message series called Thin Places. This week was part two and very good.

 

Ancient Celtic defines thin places as the space between God and man.

 

One of those thin places talked about is the wilderness. That time in your life when you feel like God is not really there, that is your wilderness time. Don’t lose heart!! Guess what?!?!?!

 

God can use the wilderness to……

1. To Show us HIS presence.

Deut 2:7 The Lord God has blessed you in all the work of your hands……God has been with and you have not lacked anything.

Even when we feel like He is not there, He IS there!!! When my baby died, I would say I had some wilderness moments. I had some really hard times, but I kept believing that God was there…..always…..even if in that moment it did not feel like it. I would cling to His promises and soon I began to feel it AND believe it. This is very true. I hate to go through trials but it seems that in trials we cling to God tighter than when things are good.

2. To make us BETTER people.

Deut 8:1-5…….The Lord your god disciplines you.

I believe after my loss (I keep going back to my loss because it is still so fresh) I became a better person. I think that I have grown and changed a lot. As much as I would give anything to have my baby with me, I can rest easy knowing that I will see him some day and I can be thankful for the positive changes and growth that I have made since he died.

3. Teach us to TRUST Him!!

Deut 8:3……teach you that man does not live on bread alone but by every word that comes from the mouth of The Lord.

I have learned to trust God a lot more, as I look back at my most recent wilderness moment…. I really have learned to trust God 110% more. I literally relied on Him to get me through each moment when the weight of grief was crushing me.

 

 

I just want you to know that if you are going through a wilderness moment right now, fix your eyes on Him and through your pain and your trials, God WILL transform you into something even more amazing than you are now. Cling to Him even when you don’t feel Him around at the moment. He IS there. He is always there. He loves YOU. He knows every tear you shed. He knows every fear you feel. He loves you and He cares for you. Use your trial to be transformed by Him. I have two babies in Heaven. I have had many wilderness moments and I think I may encounter some more in the future, but as I look back right now, even simply 9 months ago when I said hello-goodbye to Timothy…. God has done some amazing things in my heart and my life.

From → Baby Loss, Family

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

